skip to Main Content

GMRPTC Director’s Report: Hello & Goodbye to our Commissioners

Below is a message from GMRPTC Executive Director Renee Mattson. You can reach her at

The Greater Minnesota Regional Parks and Trails Commission (GMRPTC) has 13 dedicated, hardworking Commissioners who serve the six districts in the 80 counties of Greater Minnesota, two in each district and one at-large Commissioner. I’m pleased to introduce you to our four new Commissioners and bid a thankful goodbye to three who have completed their service.

In District 2, we welcome Reid Huttunen (right), City Administrator in East Grand Forks and the former Superintendent for the East Grand Forks Parks and Recreation Department.

Also in District 2, we have Commissioner Rob Mason (left) from East Gull Lake. Rob had a long career at Madden’s Resort and then went on to work as the City Administrator in East Gull Lake until his recent retirement.

Our new District 5 Commissioner, Tom Schmitz (right), is a familiar face, having served in the role previously. Tom has recently retired as Director of Parks and Recreation after 18 years, and we’re happy to welcome him back as a commissioner.

District 6 Commissioner Karlin Ziegler (left), Olmsted County Parks Director, is well known to GMPT members, having served on the board for several years.

We look forward to working with these new Commissioners! Now, a big thank you to our three retiring Commissioners:

Bryan Pike (right), one of the Commission’s founding members and serving as the Secretary/Treasurer on the Executive Committee, is leaving his post as District 2 Commissioner. We hope Bryan is planning to spend more time skiing and biking and enjoying retirement after a career as the Crow Wing County Natural Resource Manager.

Ted Suss (left), former District 5 Commissioner, is also well known to the GMPT membership as a former board member and Chair for two years before stepping forward to serve on the Commission.

Tom Ryan (right), founding member of the GMRPTC, past Board Chair, and driving force behind securing the 40-40-20 funding formula, has moved from Commissioner of District 6 to being a full-time, extremely busy retiree.

Our sincere thanks and gratitude to these Commissioners who gave their time, talent, and energy for many years!